“Cultivating Life” at the Farmers Market! Part I

I use a lot of products daily in my life with multiples and a toddler. Occasionally I review those products and get paid for my review. Rest assured, all thoughts are my true and honest opinion.

Last week I visited the Dallas Farmers Market for the first time. My friend and I had worked up an appetite after we moved some of her last things into her new place. What is interesting about the Farmers Market is that each day is different from the last. This is just because Farmers bring their produce and products to the Market daily. All of these products are organic and fresh from the farm.

FM-5

Frequently called Market 2, The Market, or The Market Shops, we visited a majority of the restaurants at the Farmers Market to sample what they had to offer before everything closed. Believe me, we will be back to explore the rest soon!

One of the things that I am currently interested in is finding recipes and preparing tasteful, healthy meal choices for my family. This became something that I wanted to do shortly after having my first daughter because I was breastfeeding. I knew that everything I was eating would affect her and I wanted to make good choices. The need to do this has grown even stronger especially after having a brief brush with gestational diabetes during my last pregnancy. But hey, that’s another story for another day. The point is that seeking out healthy activities and recipes helps them to stay healthy and me to stay healthy enough to keep up!

FM-4
Dallas Farmers Market – Having some fun!

Short rant: There are so many foods that we consume every day that are processed because either we have convenient access to them and/or they cost less. Personally, my thing is to incorporate healthy choices to teach good eating habits for my own kids. This is for their health, the longevity of their life, and to feel good while they are living it.

In my opinion, continuing to eat unhealthy 24/7 and 365 days a year, makes you an easy target for developing health conditions. Again, I am not a doctor so I cannot provide medical observations or advice. I can only speak from my own experiences and encounters. I understand that everyone has different circumstances so please do what works best for you and your family.

So, don’t get me wrong, this does not mean that eating some of these things is bad. It just becomes bad when that is all we eat and there is little to no nutritional value. I know we all know what the bad foods are but how Farmers Market is making a change in the community is by their motto of “Cultivating Life!” Giving us choices that could prolong our existence. Everything that I tried was both delicious and fresh. The Dallas Farmers Market is open 7 days a week! Check out Pt. I of my Farmers Market trip!

Food & Treats

FM-2

Cool Haus

Ice cream. My choice: Salted Caramel Yummmmmmm! This was organic and hand mixed. The clerk also told us that the flavors are switched weekly. So, they seem to have  a good variety of flavors but I tried the salted caramel ice cream. Sweet with a hint of salt and was an awesome marriage between salty and sweet. The combination was very creamy and softer than the typical ice creams at traditional creameries. This seemed to make it savory for just a little longer. Great flavor!

 

Chelle’s 

Traditional French cookie sandwiches. Macorons at Chelles were light, fluffy, with a hint of sweetness not to overbearing. Made with coconut flour opposed to enriched white flour, making them gluten free!! Monday is “Mac Monday” to buy 3 and get 1 free. So we sampled: Cappuccino, this was pretty good and enough to make me buy the other flavors. Note: I am not a huge coffee fan. On occasion a frappacino girl but definitely not a regular coffee drinker. We Bought – Salted Caramel, Red Velvet, Lemon, Vanilla, and Fruity Pebbles. Lemon and Red Velvet are classic favorites for me but I was pleasantly surprised with Fruity Pebbles! If you need a quick sweet fix this is it, without the heavy sugar presence.

FM-9.png

Doc Popcorn

Popcorn. Doc’s popcorn is popped and flavors are mixed right in front of you by hand at the Farmers Market. I sampled: “Denver mix” White Cheddar and Caramel together! It melted instantly. Definitely a strong competitor to the last great popcorn I tried from Chicago’s best popcorn company, Garrett’s.

FM-14

Bella Trino’s Neapolitan Pizzeria at the Market

Pizzeria. One of my favorite things to eat is pizza. The cheese and the ingredients were so fresh that they were sliding off the pizza! It came hot and straight out of the oven. My choice: The Inferno (personal pizza). Similar to your traditional meat lovers pizza, with a variation of meats The Inferno was very juicy and the meat was very flavorful. This is not the kind of pizza you reheat and if you did it would have to be done in the stove. Otherwise you are doing yourself a disservice.

FM-16

Nammi

Vietnamese Fusion Food Truck. My friend, Shianne ate here. Here is what she thought. Her choice: Lemongrass chicken Rice bowl – Steamed white rice underneath chicken marinated in lemongrass and various other vietnamese seasonings. Red cabbage pickled carrots, daikon, and fresh cucumbers.

Q: How did it taste Shi??

It was a combo of sweet and savory and Umami flavor. The chicken was very tender and cooked to perfection. My pickled carrots were surprisingly one of the flavor highlights because it was sweet with a kick and a crunch.

Apparel and Shops

FM-18

Bullzerk

Dallas stand up! If you were never proud to be a Texan or a Dallas Native this little store will get you there! It features baby apparel, hats, unisex t-shirts and more! Our clerk @iamhonorj mentioned that their t-shirts don’t shrink. Why Brittney? Well, she explained that this is because the shirts are pre-shrunk. So, wash them as much as you want!

This is a great place to stop for a gift or souvenir  on your way in/out of town or just because you love your city! The shop offers a service to print labels on whatever scented candle you want to buy, including business printed labels! Great service and overall cool shop to visit. Hopefully, they get more baby stuff in soon but the fact that they already have kids apparel is pretty cool! Great service and overall experience!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

