How To Make a Luxurious Body Scrub

In a previous post I made mention of using a body scrub to relax. In my opinion there are a few benefits to using scrubs. When I exfoliate with the scrub it makes my skin super soft by removing the dead/dry skin. Also, usually I add oil to the mixture and that helps add moisture. Once I get out my skin feels like satin and I feel completely relaxed.

I scrub maybe once or twice a week on my face and body. Mainly, I use my body scrubs while I am in the shower. This way I can kill two birds with one stone. I get to take care of myself and re-energize for my family.

The two scrubs that I typically do are sugar and salt. I have heard about using coffee grounds (non-instant) for scrubs but honestly I have never used that method. Normally, I use the sugar for my face and lips because it’s softer and the salt on my body.

minivan vs. suv-3.png

I like to do projects with everything: food, arts & crafts, and anything that helps to improve my daily productivity. One day I went to Ann’s Health Food Store in Dallas to search out body scrubs. I had bought a few scrubs before at Sephora and loved them! They were just a little more pricey than I wanted to pay for at about $30 or $40 a pop. I figured that at that rate the way that I was using them I would have to buy one every week making it a little over $100 a month. After I began going to the health food store I saw that they had different healthy alternatives to eating and most of the things you could eat could also be used on your body. That made me a believer so I have been there since looking for natural, healthy alternates to use in my home.

Note: Body scrubs are salt and/or sugar with an oil added. I use sea salt or brown sugar for each of my scrubs.

minivan vs. suv-4.png

What you need:

Essential Oil(s)

Any type of oil will work honestly but my favorite is vitamin e oil. The higher the number means more moisture. When I run out of that I just use baby oil until I can get back to the store.

Sea Salt or Sugar

I use light brown sugar and honey for my lips (S/O to my sister, Tiara for that recipe) but brown sugar and oil on my face. This is because sugar is more gentle on the skin than salt. Since the skin on the face is not as thick as it is on the body I use that to gently exfoliate my face. Use about 4 tablespoons.

Note: The sea salts that I use come mostly from health food stores. My favorites are eucalyptus or rose pedals. They both smell nice and like I said they make my skin really soft.

English

(1) Small Bowl or Container

(1) Spatula or Plastic Spoon

(1-2) TSP of Oil

Directions:

In a small bowl mix about 4-5 tablespoons of sea salt or sugar and oil together in a bowl and with a spatula until the components stick together. You don’t want to put too much oil in but just enough to absorb the salt or sugar. Otherwise, it will be too greasy.

Once mixed, jump into the shower, massage the mixture onto your skin, and rinse. You should feel immediate results! Enjoy.

I am forever searching Pinterest.com for ideas! My gift to you is here! Some ideas on how to make your own low-cost body scrubs. They work as great gifts too. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

